CANINE SEIZURE CONTROL #3

Early Warning System

While at a grocery store, we were headed down the aisle. Buddy was leading the way on the left side of the shopping cart. He stopped and looked over his shoulder at me. I ignored him. We went a bit further and he stopped and looked over his shoulder. I ignored him again. We went a bit further yet and he stopped, turned his body around completely, sat in front of me, and glared. If Buddy could talk, “Listen up Buster, you ignored the first two, you aren’t going to miss this one.” Thirty minutes later, while we were in a restaurant, I had two seizures. The first involved slipping in and out of consciousness for about ten minutes. The second lasted about fifteen minutes. I needed to learn to trust Buddy’s instincts.

We spent a good deal of our initial time together learning how to read each other. Not only must he be able to sense a seizure coming, I must be able to read what he is trying to tell me.

Leave a Reply

