girlfriends

Foggy Road Ahead and Potential Car Wreck

No Room In The Parking Lot For The New City Kid

In 1975, we moved from Stillwater, Minnesota to Hammond, Wisconsin. I was a city kid confronted not only with dealing with my seizure condition but also with classmates who for the most part were farm-kids. I hadn’t been born there, so I was always considered an outsider.

In 1975—I attended one quarter of 7th grade at Stillwater Junior High, I remember Herr Spreeman was the German language teacher. We moved to a small town in Wisconsin, and I had small town culture shock. You could easily have fit five of the small public library building into the Stillwater Public Library building.

The first day I attended Junior High School there I did not make a good impression. I walked with the bouncing city strut I’d grown up with. Being the new kid that knew all the answers did not make me ‘Mister Popularity.’

In Mister Larsson’s Human Events class, someone passed a note to me, it was from a girl—Dani Nordquist. She wanted to know if I wanted to be ‘boyfriend/girlfriend?’ I had this cockiness, city-kid superiority thing going on and without even asking who she was, I said ‘No.’ Little did I know that Dani was the prettiest girl in the 7th, 8th, 9th, the whole high school for that matter. All through high school I kicked myself. I had a crush on her from the moment I saw who she was back in 7th grade through my one year at UW-RF (University of Wisconsin – River Falls). I still find her the most beautiful woman I’ve ever met and called friend.

Soon, I did have a girlfriend, Shauna, mostly because at that point we were the two most intelligent people in 7th grade. Considering the amount of meds I was on this doesn’t say much for the scholastic level of the small town educational system. Shauna was my girlfriend in 7th and 8th, and then we hit the big time, we were in high school. In my freshman and sophomore years of high school, I had no girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

