Excessive masturbation does not cause epilepsy: The NASCAR-Zen of Epilepsy Life’s Strange Detour

That’s the title of the latest epilepsy memoir I’m currently working on and plan on having out on the Big A by July 4, this one really hangs my dirty laundry: physical and psychiatric out for public view. There are events, some complimentary and some very not complimentary in Zen Buddhist Koan lists and a separate Koan for each event. Masturbation is mentioned quite extensively as follows

In Victorian times it was thought that excessive masturbation caused epilepsy, this by some uptight religious with strait-laced mores and enlightened sensibilities. No shit, that is what they thought, and a bizarre thought it is, excessive masturbation  causing epilepsy. I have a question for those ignorant learned ones, just how much is excessive and how did you decide that an E-person got epilepsy from excessive masturbation. My epilepsy has a medically documented physical cause, I did not get it by masturbating to excess.

I really have to decide if certain activities should be mentioned or not. There is a term full disclosure but there is also such a thing as revealing too much. I suppose if I am in a way baring my soul and practicing honesty I shall include them.

A koan: is a story, dialogue, question, or statement, which is used in Zen practice to provoke the “great doubt” and test a student’s progress in Zen practice.

Leave a Reply

